jwt-arrowThe Season 5 premiere of Arrow started with a great fight scene, leading to Oliver stopping a rogue Vigilante, Wild Dog. In the daytime, Oliver is now Mayor and he is solo in his night job. He’s constantly late as always, perpetuating an image of aloofness to the public. Thea still doesn’t want to be speedy, but works for Ollie in his day job. Felicity and Curtis are still in the Arrowcave, helping Ollie. I like that it’s just him again. Not to keep bringing up the Bat in the room, but this is a very Batman thing to do. When someone dies, he pushes everyone away. Ollie keeps hoping that Dig and Thea will come back into the fold.

We find out there are corrupt cops in Star City and a new gang leader, Tobias Church. He kidnaps Oliver at the Black Canary statue unveiling. Quinten Lance, who has reverted to being a drunk, tries to help out and forces Thea to save Oliver. Oliver kills a dirty cop beating on him, similar to when He and Tommy were tied up in the pilot.

Felicity tries to convince Ollie to train the new vigilantes popping up around town. We see a flashback after Ollie gets a file of clean cops from Lance. It is the promise he made Laurel before she passed. She didn’t want to be the last Canary. Now I have a theory that her doppelganger from Earth-2, Black Siren, will become good and fill those shoes. That would be similar to what happened in the comics before Crisis.

Ollie, as Green Arrow, and a team of cops go back and rescue the other hostages. As the building explodes, Ollie hops a ride on a helicopter and has a fight with Tobias, which was pretty awesome. All of the fight scenes have been spectacular.

The Flashbacks are something I haven’t touched on. They involve Ollie going to Russia. He fights and kills the Bratva’s top fighter in a match. He was almost killed, but saved by Anatole. He asked for help in killing someone. The only way Anatole will help is by Oliver joining Bratva.

Oliver decides to create an Anti-Crime unit of clean cops to help him. He also decides to form the new team after a conversation with Felicity, Curtis and Dig. We also see Felicity has a new beau. Which I am a fan of because there was too much Olicity going on the last two seasons. The episode ends with a new archer/swordsman villain killing a cop outside the station.

I LOVED this episode, which is something I haven’t been able to say since the Season 2 finale. I was very disappointed in Seasons 3 & 4 and in Laurel, since Black Canary is one of my favorite characters from the comics. The action scenes were on point, like always. I felt like they just stepped up their game, realizing they may have dropped the ball. I like that Oliver was on his own, although I’m afraid of the Batman Inc. route they seem to be going in for next episode. I liked the shout out to the list from his father. They also name dropped Bludhaven again. I doubt we’ll see Nightwing though. They may have loosened up on Superman on TV, but I don’t think we’ll see Batman or members of the Bat family on TV. I am now excited for this season. I would definitely give this episode a 76%. Was it perfect? No. I would’ve liked to see Felicity removed from the Arrowcave and maybe have Curtis work the computers. With Oliver escaping, realized he was gone. I also didn’t like that he used guns. The flashbacks were still kind of blah. I do like that Anatole is back. I loved him on the Island. I can’t wait to see how Flashpoint effects it and how all of this feeds into the crossover.

One thought on ““Arrow” Season 5 Episode 1 Review

  1. Oh god I’m so with you! I haven’t truly enjoyed the show since Season 2/3 – after which everything went kind of blah. I’m glad the show went back to its root (I like to think it listened to the fans when it comes to this). I’m looking forward to seeing what this season has to offer. I’m ready for it. Great post, and nice blog too. Would you be interested in sharing your work on Creators/Moviepilot? Feel free to shoot me an e-mail if you’d like me to expand on that. You can find my contact details on my blog. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

